So i’m spending the afternoon reading on my kindle, drinking tea and watching the world. Its good to get out of the house, and breathe fresh movement and inspiration…

And, its surfacing a poignant feeling of being alone, and strangely satisfying. A weird combination of needing and wanting social and intimate connection, and yet craving space and rest. I think this is #solitude: the beauty of being alone, and yet not feeling lonely

A man can be himself only so long as he is alone, and if he does not love solitude, he will not love freedom, for it is only when he is alone that he is really free. 

-Arthur Schopenhauer

So i’m allowing myself to sit with this strange-yet-familiar mood; of want and avoidance, of need yet aversion.

May today allow me to better learn how to be by myself. For even if the world forsakes me, I am never truly alone if I have myself.

4 thoughts on “Day 2/100: reading by myself makes me feel strangely alone, and yet satisfied

  1. One day soon it won’t feel strange and all you’ll be left with is satisfaction. When I started venturing outside the house and being alone in public, I went to the movies and it felt strange, like you said. Fast-forward years and here I am satisfied and I love the quote. –W38

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes indeed… there is satisfaction, there is a sense of peace – and of course, strange because its a new experience, a new feeling, a new way of being.. thanks for sharing W38

    Like

Leave a Reply

