Today was a whirlwind. I felt myself squeezed between learning a data visualization software (Tableau, which is fantastic btw, but I digress), and the demands of work and company. 

It was interesting to observe myself and my mind however. I learnt that in times of discomfort, of being slightly overwhelmed and ‘bored’, I fall into the trap of multitasking and trying to do everything at once. That I try to take on so many things, I fail terribly at almost all of them.

Multitasking arises out of distraction itself. (Marilyn vos Savant)

And I snapped out of all the mental and physical drama, when I rested my gaze upon the small little flowers in the shrubs. Blossoms along the underbush, a sign of life and beauty where we expect none.

I realized then – that I need to stop the mindless chase. To focus my attention more mindfully, to meet what is here in this present moment. Drop the illusion of juggling everything, and just do one thing well, before moving on after.

And I learnt that, amongst all the shrubs, the brack and broken and bushes, there is still beauty and life waiting to be discovered, appreciated.

I feel hopeful – that all is very well, that there is much to be grateful for and present to, and I’m growing and learning to be a better person in all areas of my life.

Blossom, anyone?

Leave a Reply

